Evette Hooper

Evette Hooper grew up in east Houston where she attended North Shore High School.

Originally interested in neurological surgery, Evette received her Bachelors of Science in Psychology from Texas A&M University. While there, she was a member of the Order of Omega Honors Society.

Evette Hooper Headshot
Evette Hooper

After becoming interested in the LSAT and the logic behind it, Evette decided to take the test and did very well. She found her calling and went on to attend the Texas Tech School of Law in Lubbock. During this time, she was a student attorney at the Caprock Regional Public Defender Office, where she represented underprivileged defendants charged with various felony and misdemeanor crimes across 6 different counties surrounding the Lubbock area. After graduating from law school, Evette returned to Houston to practice in her hometown.

In 2018 Evette joined the Attorney Guss team, where she represents injured Texans and their families in the fight against stubborn insurance companies and corporations. Her passion drives her to advocate for her clients in and out of the courtroom. Her background knowledge in neuroscience helps her better understand her clients’ injuries and their impact, and she has a strong record of trial results on many cases across the state of Texas.

Evette met her husband when they were both 19 and they’ve been inseparable ever since. They recently welcomed a daughter. In her spare time, Evette enjoys weightlifting, reading, and golf.

Get to Know: Evette Hooper

Why did you get into personal injury law? 

“I wanted to help people. I love standing up to bad guys, and now I get to stand up to big insurance companies every day.”

What does “client first” mean to you? 

“When I worked as a server and bartender to put myself through college and law school, I learned to effectively communicate with my guests and listen to their needs. I apply those same standards to my work for my clients today. While many don’t think of legal work this way, I understand that I am in the service industry. It is my job to do what is best for my clients while providing them with the best experience I can possibly produce. Our clients are all going through tough times physically and emotionally. I try to think of my clients as my own family members and to treat them how I would want my mother or father or brother to be treated.”

What did you think you were going to be when growing up? 

“Everything from an “office boss” in kindergarten to a veterinarian to a scientist to a marine biologist.”

What is your go-to comfort food? 

“My favorite food on the planet is the chocolate chip cookie.”

What is your favorite TV show or movie? 

“Scandal is one of my all time favorite TV shows. It’s where I found my daughter’s name!”

What is your favorite thing to do on the weekends? 

“Entertain family and friends. We love hosting parties, get-togethers, and game nights at our home.”

If you could know more about one thing, what would it be? 

“I’m constantly reading and attending seminars on trial advocacy. I truly enjoy learning about my practice. Outside of work, I love gaining knowledge in the field of bodybuilding, including both the physical and nutritional aspects of the sport.”