Russell Parker

Russell Parker hails from Tucker, Georgia, just east of Atlanta. He attended undergrad at Mercer University in Macon and went to law school at Georgia State in Atlanta. During law school, Russell received an ORISE grant to work at the Army Environmental Policy Institute at Georgia Tech and had internships with the United States Environmental Protection Agency and the Atlanta Legal Aid-Senior Citizens Project, where he assisted low income seniors with everything from evictions to probate matters.

Russell Parker Headshot
Russell Parker

After law school, while working at a small general practice firm in Norcross, Russell began to focus on personal injury and workers’ compensation cases. He gradually transitioned to solely personal injury claims as he realized those were the most personally rewarding cases for him. 

Today Russell lives near Stone Mountain in Georgia, about 5 miles from the house he grew up in and where his parents still reside. Russell and his wife Kimberly have always had a menagerie of animals; currently they care for two chihuahuas (Potsie and Gidget), a cat (Chaos), and a rescued flying squirrel (Pea-Pod). Since his son has developed an interest in cosplay, Russell can sometimes be talked into dressing up for movie premieres! The family also loves going to estate sales together, biking, hiking, kayaking, and paddle boarding around the lake at Stone Mountain. 

Get to Know: Russell Parker

Why did you get into personal injury law? 

“My dad was an attorney. As I started college, I decided that I would go into law. When I started practicing, I was in general practice, and the personal injury cases brought me the greatest satisfaction on a personal, and professional level. In this area of law, I felt like I was truy helping people.”

What does “client first” mean to you? 

“Obtaining the best outcome I can for the client, while understanding that many times clients just want to be heard and to be able to tell their story to someone that will actually listen. I’ve experienced shoulder and back pain, and it can be very frustrating to do everyday tasks while in pain, trying not to complain, and get on with life, as best you can, especially when someone else caused that injury. That’s why I am excited to work for Stewart Guss, where there is a definite emphasis on client satisfaction and empathy.”

Do you have any hidden talents or surprising hobbies? 

“I enjoy doing DIY projects around the house and gardening. I can replace a window, hang a door, lay tile, pour concrete…  Everything seems to work, so far!”

What did you think you were going to be when growing up? 

“For a while I wanted to be a helicopter pilot (no idea why) and then a veterinarian. All the pets still like me the best!”

What is your go-to comfort food? 

“Country fried steak with mashed potatoes and lots of gravy, chicken pot pie, or McDonald’s french fries and a Coke.”

What is your favorite TV show or movie? 

“Marvel movies, or not so old sci-fi (Alien, Predator), Eastwood westerns (The Outlaw Josey Wales); and anything true crime.”

What is your favorite thing to do on the weekends? 

“When I can, I like to go fishing and prove that there are no fish in the metro area lakes.”